Meet The Team! Marie - Stylist

How many years working in fashion:  Since leaving school.  I have always been interested in fashion and style, whether it be antiques, clocks, furniture or clothes, and I have been intrinsically linked to these environments and industries throughout my life.  I have seen, experienced and worn many trends, but rather than running after being ‘fashionable’, I now look for simplicity in style.

What other work have you done:  My love of fashion started when I worked in a small independent clothes shop in Hertford in the late seventies. A few years later I moved into the antique trade, before taking off quite a few years to look after our children.  It was actually my daughter who suggested I should work for Next, which I duly did for 11 years, when I was then invited to be part of the SuSu team and the rest is history - 16 years of it and counting! 

Oldest thing in your wardrobe (self not included!):  I don't have many as I pass them on to my daughter, sisters and friends.  If I've enjoyed owning them they may too, and it's a good way of recycling them. That said I have a very simple dress from Suzy D (SuSu) that I wear with thick tights and boots or heels and a statement necklace.

All-time favourite item of clothing:  PVC leather look trousers and a simple white shirt.

Current crush:  Chunky boots, any style, any colour, to wear with the much loved gilet of the season.

Describe your personal fashion style:  I've been described as being stylish with an edge!  Age is not a barrier to being able to look cool, elegant and fashionable.

Fashion pet peeve:  Someone refusing to try a dash of colour.  A bit of colour can change your mood and cheer you up no end.

Top fashion tip for SuSu customers:  Even though you think it won't suit you, because it’s not your shape, colour etc., if you like it try it on. You may be pleasantly surprised!  We at Susu will always tell you the truth, we are here to help and we're quite good at it too.

First thing you will do when lockdown is over:  Be with my children, grandson and the rest of my family.  Share a glass of wine with my friends.